Are You An IPL Legend?

The Indian Premier League – it’s changed the game. But have you been watching? Here are some questions to test your knowledge of the IPL. All stats correct as of March 30, 2017.

Best of luck. Make sure to share your score on Twitter/Facebook etc, obviously the more you know about the IPL the better you are as a human being. Remind your friends of that if you beat them.

  1. One place to start: who’s scored the most IPL runs ever?

    All stats correct of March 30, 2017.

    • Chris Gayle
    • Suresh Raina
    • Virat Kohli
    • Rohit Sharma


    Virat Kohli!

    Naturally. The Indian skipper had an unbelievable campaign in 2016 (four hundreds, average of 81) so ahead of the 2017 IPL he’s on top of the tree with 4,110 runs. He’ll probably be No.1 for a while, as well, he’s like a glorious batting robot, programmed to be too good.

  2. And, strictly in terms of win percentage, who has been the most successful team?

    • Rajasthan Royals
    • Mumbai Indians
    • Chennai Super Kings
    • Royal Challengers Bangalore


    Chennai Super Kings!

    The franchise, who played from the tournament’s inception until 2015, have a win percentage of 60.68, the best in the tournament’s history.

  3. It may be a game all about the batsmen, but which bowler has the best economy-rate?

    Damage. Avoidance. (Minimum 250 balls)

    • Dale Steyn
    • Sunil Narine
    • Muttiah Muralitharan
    • Ravi Ashwin


    Sunil Narine!

    The West Indian has gone at only 6.18 an over across his 66 matches. Tight.

  4. Which bowler has the best strike-rate in the history of the IPL?

    Minimum 250 balls.

    • Ashish Reddy
    • Imran Tahir
    • Dimitri Mascarenhas
    • Sreenath Aravind


    Sreenath Aravind!

    The RCB left-arm seamer has 40 wickets from 96.1 overs, that’s a wicket every 14.4 balls. Incisive.

  5. Who won the Orange Cap in the inaugural IPL (2008)?

    The Orange Cap, of course, is awarded to the highest run-scorer.

    • Shaun Marsh
    • Sanath Jayasuriya
    • Gautam Gambhir
    • Shane Watson


    Shaun Marsh!

    The dynastical Australian started with a bang, scoring 616 runs.

  6. Who was the first Indian to score an IPL century?

    Brendon McCullum got the first one – in the tournament’s debut match – but who was the first local to reach three figures?

    • Yusuf Pathan
    • Manish Pandey
    • Sachin Tendulkar
    • Paul Valthaty


    Manish Pandey!

    Playing for RCB, Pandey scored 114* against Deccan Chargers at Centurion in the tournament’s second season (played in South Africa due to the Indian elections also taking place at the same time). Yusuf Pathan is therefore the first Indian to score an IPL ton on home soil.

  7. Three players have played for six IPL franchises. Aaron Finch is one, Thisara Perera is another, who’s the third?

    A well-travelled man, clearly.

    • Ashok Dinda
    • Ashish Nehra
    • Parthiv Patel
    • Dinesh Karthik


    Parthiv Patel!

    The wicketkeeper has represented Chennai Super Kings, Kochi Tuskers Kerala, Deccan Chargers, Sunrisers Hyderabad, Royal Challengers Bangalore, Mumbai Indians. A veritable Robbie Keane.

  8. Who has the highest strike-rate from one innings?

    Only innings of 25+ runs are counted.

    • AB de Villiers
    • Albie Morkel
    • Luke Wright
    • Sarfaraz Khan


    Albie Morkel!

    The long-levered allrounder bullied his way to 28 from just seven balls for CSK against RCB in 2012. Three sixes and two fours. Wallop.

  9. Who’s the most expensive player in the history of the IPL?

    Cricket’s Gareth Bale, if you will.

    • Ben Stokes
    • Robin Uthappa
    • Glenn Maxwell
    • Yuvraj Singh


    Yuvraj Singh!

    The India legend went to Delhi Daredevils in 2015 for $2.7m. Stokes became the most expensive overseas player in the most recent draft, earning himself a cool $2.16m.

  10. Which Indian cricketer has been obscured here?


    • Suresh Raina
    • Ravindra Jadeja
    • Dinesh Karthik
    • Praveen Kumar


    Suresh Raina!

    The captain of the Gujarat Lions, pictured celebrating a wicket last season.

Are You An IPL Legend?Share you results


henry coweninteractiveiplipl 2017playquizzesvirat kohli

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *